Never Judge a Book by Its Cover? Pah!

Standard

I have been advised by several people in Malawi to buy a Kindle before moving out there, because books are not readily available and those that are are expensive. I spent a good half hour on Amazon adding and removing, adding and removing the £89 gadget from my basket. In the end I just couldn’t do it. Instead, I resolved to bring a suitcase-full of brand new books to Malawi with me. Foyles will love me; my bank account will not. To me, a book is more than just the story inside. Reading a book is just as much about its visual, tactile beauty. I don’t care how convenient a Kindle is, it is a book without a soul. Or perhaps a soul without a body? You decide.

Here are some of the books I bought mainly for the beauty of their covers:

A darling little Tim Burton-esque story about a boy with a mechanical heart who falls in love with a girl from Andalusia. Makes me smile because I'm in love with a boy from Andalusia.

I bought this in a Cambridge charity shop. It's a thin paperback containing poems by Gregory Corso, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Allen Ginsberg and Jack Kerouac.

The Qur'an: A New Translation by M.A.S. Abdel Haleem
I was drawn to Islam for a long time. I read this from time to time but mainly I love looking at the cover art.

Leave a Reply

